## LOCAL GOVERNMENT ECONOMIC CONGRESS II 3SI FORUM OF REGIONS

## LUBLIN DECLARATION

## on establishment of the Economic Network of the Three Seas Regions

Both Lublin and the Lubelskie Voivodeship have a unique place in the history of Europe. The Union of Lublin, signed in 1569, upon which the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth was established, constitutes a positive example of the integration processes in European history.

Having considered common the heritage, the history of the region and the concept of the THREE SEAS INITIATIVE, as well as the project of the *Via Carpathia* transit corridor, implemented under the INITIATIVE, we express our will to contribute to the joint building of the economic strength of Central and Eastern Europe, based on integrated and coordinated efforts aiming at the sustainable and responsible development of the individual regions within the European Union.

Taking into account the implementation of the provisions already included in the *Agreement for the construction of the Via Carpathia transit corridor*, the signatories to this Declaration express their intention and will to act towards the establishment of a strong and permanent partnership for all the regions located in the area between the Baltic Sea, Adriatic Sea and Black Sea, covered by the Three Seas Initiative.

The purpose of this agreement is to work together towards the development and reaping of the benefits by all societies of this area, and towards improvement of the regions' competitiveness at the European level. The establishment of the Economic Network of the Three Seas Regions, as a tool for the implementation of joint initiatives, will be an expression of enhanced interregional cooperation.

Lubelskie Voivodeship represented by Jarosław Stawiarski, Marshal of the Lubelskie Voivodeship Mazowieckie Voivodeship represented by Adam Struzik, Marshal of the Mazowieckie Voivodeship Podkarpackie Voivodeship represented by Władysław Ortyl, Marshal of the Podkarpackie Voivodeship

Podlaskie Voivodeship represented by Artur Kosicki, Marshal of the Podlaskie Voivodeship

Świętokrzyskie Voivodeship represented by Andrzej Bętkowski, Marshal of the Świętokrzyskie Voivodeship

Alytus Regional Development Council represented by Algirdas Vrubliauskas, Chairman of the General Meeting of Participants of the Alytus Regional Development Council

Marijampole Regional Development Council represented by Edgaras Pilypaitis, Chairman of Marijampole Regional Development Council

Panevezys City represented by Rytis Mykolas Rackauskas, Mayor of the Panevezys City Calarasi County represented by Vasile Iliuță, President of the Calarasi County Council Caraș-Severin County represented by Romeo-Dan Dunca, President of the Caraș-Severin County Council

Dolj County represented by Mihail Neatu, Vicepresident of the County Council

Maramureş County represented by Doru Alexandru Lazăr, Vicepresident of the Maramureş County Council Doru

Timiş County represented by Alexandru Proteasa, Vicepresident of the Timiş County Council

Prešov Self-Governing Region represented by Martin Jakubov, Vice-President of the Prešov Self-Governing Region

Hajdú-Bihar County represented by Zoltán Pajna, President of the General Assembly of Hajdú-Bihar County

Hereinafter jointly referred to as the "Parties", have agreed as follows:

- The Parties declare undertaking joint actions towards establishment of the Economic Network of the Three Seas Regions, with the seat in Lublin, and its expansion by new partners representing local governments, business institutions, universities, etc. from the countries of the Three Seas Initiative.
- 2. The objective of the Network operations shall be partnership and cooperation on sustainable and responsible economic development of the Three Seas Initiative regions.
- 3. The Parties declare establishing and maintaining regular, multidimensional contacts, as well as building permanent and diverse partnerships.
- 4. The Parties shall support each other in establishing, implementing and promoting joint projects implemented under community policies of the European Union.
- 5. Formally, the Economic Network of the Three Seas Regions shall be established based on the agreement on joining the Economic Network of the Three Seas Regions signed by and between the Parties.

This Declaration has been signed in Lublin on 29 of June 2021, in 15 counterparts, each in the Polish, Lithuanian, Romanian, Slovak, Hungarian and the English language. In the event of discrepancies when interpreting the Declaration, the English language version shall prevail.

On behalf of: Lubelskie Voivodeship

Mazowieckie Voivodeship

Podkarpackie Voivodeship

Podlaskie Voivodeship

Świętokrzyskie Voivodeship

Marshal of the Lubelskie Voivodeship Jarosław Stawiarski

Marshal of the Mazowieckie Voivodeship Adam Struzik

> Marshal of the Podkarpackie Voivodeship Władysław Ortyl

Marshal of the Podlaskie Voivodeship Artur Kosicki

Marshal of the Świętokrzyskie Voivodeship Andrzej Bętkowski

Alytus Regional Development Council

Marijampole Regional Development Council

Chairman of the General Meeting of Participants of the Alytus Regional Development Council Algirdas Vrubliauskas

Chairman of Marijampole Regional Development Council Edgaras Pilypaitis

Panevezys City

Mayor of the Panevezys City Rytis Mykolas Rackauskas

Calarasi County	President of the Calarasi County Council Vasile Iliuță
Caraş-Severin County	President of the Caraş-Severin County Council Romeo-Dan Dunca
Dolj County	Vicepresident of the County Council Mihail Neatu
Maramureș County	Vicepresident of the Maramureș County Council Doru Alexandru Lazăr
Timiş County	Vicepresident of the Timiş County Council Alexandru Proteasa
Prešov Self-Governing Region	Vice-President of the Prešov Self-Governing Region Martin Jakubov
Hajdú-Bihar County	President of the General Assembly of Hajdú- Bihar County
	Zoltán Pajna